Eastern Highlands Province


About Eastern Highlands Province


  1. Daulo
  2. Goroka
  3. Hanganofi
  4. Kainantu
  5. Lufa
  6. Obura-Wonenara
  7. Okapa
  8. Unggai-Bena


  • Goroka
  • Government

  • Governor - Hon. James Numu
  • Provincial Administrator - Samson Akunai
  • Provincial Treasurer - Vilo Wartove
  • Site Advisors
    ID Photo Position & Name Contact Details
    Provincial and District Support Advisor

    Mr. Mathew Tine

    • Office: Provincial Treasury Office
    • Address: P.O Box 1077, GOROKA, EHP
    • Ph: (+675) 532 3201
    • Fax: (+675) 532 1403
    • Mobile: (+675) 7202 4106
    • Email: mathew_tine@finance.gov.pg

    Area Total

  • 4,324.3 sq mi (11,200 km2)
  • Population Total

  • 432,972
  • Density

  • 100.1/sq mi (38.7/km2)
  • Eastern Highlands is a highlands province of Papua New Guinea. The provincial capital is Goroka. The province covers an area of 11,200 kmĀ², and has a population of 432,972 (2000 census). The province shares a common administrative boundary with Madang, Morobe and Gulf and Simbu Provinces. The province is the home of the Asaro Mud Musk that is displayed at shows and festivals within the province and in the country. It is reachable by air and road transport.

    District District Capital LLG Name
    Daulo District Asaro Upper Asaro, Lower Asaro & Watabung LLG
    Goroka District Goroka Goroka Urban, Mimanalo, Gahuku LLG
    Henganofi District Henganofi Dunatina, Faiantina & Kafetina LLGs
    Kainantu District Kainantu Kainantu Urban, Agarabi, Kumano 1, Kumano 2
    Lufa Districtt Lufa Mt Michael, Yagaria and Unavi LLG
    Obura-Wonenara District Lamari Lamari, Gadsup/Tairora, Yelia LLG
    Okapa District Okapa East Okapa & West Okapa LLG
    Unggai-Benna District Benna Unggai, Lower Bena & Upper Bena LLGs