Enga Province


About Enga


  1. Kandep District
  2. Kompiam District
  3. Lagaip-Porgera District
  4. Wabag District


  • Wabag
  • Government

  • Governor - Hon. Peter Ipatas
  • Provincial Administrator - Dr. Samson Amean
  • Provincial Treasurer - Nathan Lapakio
  • Site Advisors

    ID Photo Position & Name Contact Details
    Delilah Warbat Provincial & District Support Advisor

    Delilah Warbat

    • Office: Provincial Treasury Office
    • Address: P O Box 281, Wapenamanda, Enga Province
    • Ph: (+675)547 1109
    • Fax: (+675) 547 1390
    • Mobile: (+675) 7202 4118
    • Email: delilah_warbat@finance.gov.pg

    Area Total

  • 11,704 km2 (4,519 sq mi)
  • Population Total

  • 432,045
  • Density

  • 37/km2 (96/sq mi)
  • Enga Province is located in the north most region of the highlands of PNG, having been divided from the Western Highlands to become a separate province when the provinces were created at the time of independence in 1975. The people of Enga are called Engans—they are a majority ethnic group—speaking one language in all its five districts: approximately 500,000 people.

    Enga is unique among the provinces in Papua New Guinea in that it has only one major linguistic and ethnic group: Enga speakers. Although dialects of the Enga language vary greatly from Laiagam in the west to Wapenamanda in the east, Engans' shared ethnic identity overshadows the existence of other ethnic groups in the province, such as Ipili speakers (around Porgera) and Nete speakers.

    Districts and LLGs

    Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

    District District Capital LLG Name
    Kandep District Kandep
  • Kandep Rural
  • Wage Rural
  • Kompiam District Kompiam
  • Ambum Rural
  • Kompiam Rural
  • Wapi (Uangis) Rural
  • Lagaip-Pogera District Laiagam-Porgera
  • Pilikambi Rural
  • Maip-Mulitaka Rural
  • Paiela-Hewa Rural
  • Porgera Rural
  • Wapenamanda District Wapenamanda
  • Wapenamanda Rural
  • Tsak Rural
  • Wabag District Wabag
  • Maramuni Rural
  • Wabag Rural
  • Wabag Urban