Sandaun Province (Papua New Guinea)

About Sandaun


  1. Aitape-Lumi District
  2. Nuku District
  3. Telefomin District
  4. Vanimo-Green River District


  • Vanimo
  • Government

  • Governor - Hon. Tony Wouwou
  • Provincial Administrator - Conrad Tilau
  • Provincial Treasurer - Bernard Poya
  • Site Advisors

    ID Photo Position & Name Contact Details
    Rei Melepia Provincial & District Support Advisor

    Rei Melepia

    Area Total

  • 14,000 sq mi (36,300 km2)
  • Population Total

  • 185,790
  • Density

  • 13/sq mi (5.1/km2)
  • Sandaun Province, officially West Sepik Province, is the north-westernmost province of Papua New Guinea. It covers an area of 36,300 kmĀ² and has a population of 185,741 (2000 census). The capital is Vanimo. In July 1998 the area surrounding the town Aitape suffered from an enormous tsunami in which killed over 2,000 people in total.

    Districts & LLG's

    There are four districts in the province. Each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

    District District Capital LLG Name
    Aitape-Lumi District Aitape
  • East Aitape Rural
  • East Wapei Rural
  • West Aitape Rural
  • West Wapei Rural
  • Nuku District Nuku
  • Nuku Rural
  • Palai Rural
  • Yangkok Rural
  • Maimai Wanwan Rural
  • Namea Rural
  • Telefomin District Telefomin
  • Oksapmin Rural
  • Telefomin Rural
  • Yapsie Rural
  • Amanab Rural
  • Vanimo-Green River District Vanimo
  • Green River Rural
  • Vanimo Urban
  • Walsa Rural