Autonomous Region of Bouganville

About Bouganville


  • Central Bouganville
  • North Bouganville
  • South Bouganville


Buka (Interim)


  • President - Hon. John Momis
  • Governor - Hon. Joe Lera
  • Chief Administrator - Mr. Chris Siriosi
  • Provincial Treasurer - Mr. Paul Amera
Area Total

  • 3,600 sq mi (9,300 km2)

  • Population Total

  • 175,160

  • Density

  • 49/sq mi (19/km2)

  • Site Advisor

    ID Photo Position & Name Contact Detais
    Provincial & District Support Advisor
    Mr. Geoffrey Kedeke
    • Office: Provincial Treasury Office
    • Address: P.O Box 121, BUKA, ABG
    • Ph: (+675) 9739784
    • Fax: (+675) 9739784
    • Mobile: (+675) 7202 4114
    • Email:
    The Autonomous Region of Bougainville, previously known as North Solomons, is an autonomous region in Papua New Guinea. The largest island is Bougainville Island (also the largest of the Solomon Islands group), and the province also includes the island of Buka and assorted outlying islands including the Carterets. The capital is temporarily Buka, though it is expected that Arawa will once again become the provincial capital. The population of the province is 175,160 (2000 census).

    Bougainville Island is ecologically and geographically, although not politically, part of the Solomon Islands. Buka, Bougainville, and most of the Solomons are part of the Solomon Islands rain forests ecoregion.

    The island is rich in copper and gold. A large mine was established at Panguna in the early 1970s by Bougainville Copper Limited, a subsidiary of Rio Tinto.

    Disputes over the environmental impact, financial benefits and social change brought by the mine renewed a secessionist movement that had been dormant since the 1970s. The independence of Bougainville (Republic of North Solomons) was unsuccessfully proclaimed in 1975 and in 1990.

    In 1988, the Bougainville Revolutionary Army (BRA) increased their activity significantly. Prime Minister Sir Rabbie Namaliu ordered the Papua New Guinea Defence Force (PNGDF) to put down the rebellion, and the conflict escalated into a civil war. The PNGDF retreated from permanent positions on Bougainville in 1990, but continued military action. The conflict involved pro-independence and loyalist Bougainvillean groups as well as the PNGDF. The war claimed an estimated 15,000 to 20,000 lives.[1][2] In 1996, Prime Minister Sir Julius Chan requested the help of Sandline International, a private military company previously involved in supplying mercenaries in the civil war in Sierra Leone, to put down the rebellion. This resulted in the Sandline affair.

    Districts and LLGs

    Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

    District District Capital LLG Name
    Central Bouganville Arawa/Kieta
    • Arawa Rural
    • Wakunai Rural
    • Tinputz Rural
    North Bouganville Buka
    • Buka Rural
    • Kunua Rural
    • Nissan Rural
    • Selau Siur Rural
    • Atolls Rural
    South Bouganville Buin
    • Buin Rural
    • Siwai Rural
    • Torokina Rural
    • Bana Rural