West New Britain Province

About West New Britain Provincee


  • Kandrian-Gloucester District
  • Talasea District




  • Governor -Hon. Sasindran Muthuve
  • Provincial Administrator - Williamson Hosea
  • Provincial Treasurer - Simon Parak
Area Total

  • 20,387 km2 (7,871 sq mi)

  • Population Total

  • 264,264 (2011 census)

  • Site Advisor

    ID Photo Position & Name Contact Detais
    Provincial & District Support Advisor

    Mr. William Daniel
    • Office: Provincial Treasury Office
    • Address: PO Box
    • Ph: (+675)
    • Fax: (+675)
    • Mobile: (+675) 7202 4113
    • Email: william_daniel@finance.gov.pg
    West New Britain Province is a province of Papua New Guinea on the islands of New Britain. The provincial capital is Kimbe. The area of the province in 20,387 kmĀ², and there are 264,264 of the 2011 census count.

    West New Britain has seven major tribes, the Nakanai, Bakovi, Kove, Unea, Maleu, Kaulong and Arowe, speaking a total of about 25 languages.

    Districts and LLGs

    Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

    District District Capital LLG Name
    Kandrian-Gloucester District Kandrian
    • Gasmata Rural
    • Gloucester Rural
    • Kandrian Coastal Rural
    • Kandrian Inland Rural
    • Kove-kaliai Rural
    Talasea District Kimbe
    • Bali-Witu Rural
    • Bialla Rural
    • Hoskins Rural
    • Kimbe Urban
    • Mosa Rural
    • Talasea Rural