Southern Highlands Province

About Southern Highlands Province


  • Ialibu-Pangia
  • Imbonggu
  • Kagua-Erave
  • Mendi-Munihu
  • Nipa-Kutubu




  • Governor -Hon. William Powi
  • Provincial Administrator - Joseph Kasitan
  • Provincial Treasurer - Kevin Puruno
Area Total

  • 15,089 km2 (5,826 sq mi)

  • Population Total

  • 510,245 (2011 census)

  • Site Advisor

    ID Photo Position & Name Contact Detais
    Provincial & District Support Advisor

    Jack Komen
    • Office: Provincial Treasury Office
    • Address: PO Box 252, Mendi, Southern Highlands
    • Ph: (+675) 71003427
    • Fax: n/a
    • Mobile: (+675) 71003427
    Southern Highlands Province Southern Highlands is a province in Papua New Guinea. Its provincial capital is the town of Mendi. According to Papua New Guinea's national 2011 census, the total population of Southern Highlands (after the separation of Hela Province) is 515,511 spread across 15,089 square kilometers (5,826 sq mi).It is one of the country's province that is rich in energy resources.

    Southern Highlands has roughly around 7 dialects. The languages are as follows; Anggal Heneng, Imbonggu, Kewa, Wiru, Biami, Foe, and Fasu

    Districts and LLGs

    Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

    District District Capital LLG Name
    Ialibu-Pangia District Ialibu-Pangia
    • East Pangia Rural
    • Ialibu Urban
    • Kewabi Rural
    • Wiru Rural
    Imbonggu District Imbonggu
    • Ialibu Basin Rural
    • Imbonggu Rural
    • Lower Mendi Rural
    Kagua-Erave District Kagua
    • Erave Rural
    • Kagua Rural
    • Kuare Rural
    Mendi-Munihi District Mendi
    • Karints Rural
    • Lai Valley Rural
    • Mendi Urban
    • Upper Mendi Rural
    Nipa-Kutubu District Nipa
    • Lake Kutubu Rural
    • Mount Bosavi Rural
    • Nembi Plateau Rural
    • Nipa Rural
    • Poroma Rural