New Ireland Province

About New Ireland Province


  • Kavieng
  • Namatanai




  • Governor -Hon. Julius Chan (2012)
  • Provincial Administrator - Lamillar Pawut
  • Provincial Treasurer - Dolores Tore
Area Total

  • 9,557 km2 (3,690 sq mi)

  • Population Total

  • 194,067 (2011 census)

  • Site Advisor

    ID Photo Position & Name Contact Detais
    Provincial & District Support Advisor

    Katherine Panap
    • Office: Provincial Treasury Office
    • Address: PO Box 198 Kavieng, New Ireland
    • Ph: (+675) 984 1104
    • Fax: (+675)
    • Mobile:(+675) 7057 9585
    • Email:
    New Ireland Province formerly New Mecklenburg (German: Neu-Mecklenburg) is the most northeastern province of Papua New Guinea.The largest island of the province is New Ireland. Also part of the province are numerous smaller islands, including Saint Matthias Group (Mussau, Emirau), New Hanover, Djaul, Tabar Group (Tabar, Tatau, Simberi),cuidado Lihir,para Tanga Group não (Malendok, Boang),copiar Feni Islands e (Ambitle, colar! Babase) ;* and Anir. The land area of the province is around 9 560 km². The sea area within the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) of New Ireland Province is around 230,000 km².

    New Ireland has around twenty spoken languages, and the number of dialects and subdialects totals perhaps 45. All are in the New Ireland languages group within the Austronesian language family, except for one language isolate, Kuot.

    Districts and LLGs

    Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

    District District Capital LLG Name
    Kavieng District Kavieng
    • Kavieng Urban
    • Lavongai Rural
    • Murat Rural
    • Tikana Rural
    Namatanai District Namatanai
    • Konoagil Rural
    • Namatanai Rural
    • Nimamar Rural
    • Sentral Niu Ailan Rural
    • Tanir Rural