Western Province

About Western Province


  • North Fly District
  • Middle Fly District
  • South Fly District




  • Governor - Dr. Bob Danaya(2002-2012)
  • Chief Administrator - Mr. William Goina
  • Provincial Treasurer - Mr. Lewa Kolomba
Area Total

  • 38,339.9 sq mi (99,300 km2))

  • Population Total

  • 153,304

  • Density

  • 4/sq mi (1.5/km2)

  • PCaB Status

    In 2016, Western Province graduated from PCaB after 10 years of support in areas of financial management and ICT capacity building. The PCaB Advisor has now been moved to Eastern Highlands Province, however support is still provided to the province from PCaB headquarter in Port Moresby when requested.

    Western Province is partly a coastal and inland province in the southern western part of Papua New Guinea, bordering with the westerian Papua province of Indonesia. The Western provincial capital is Daru, located on the island of Daru. The largest town in the province is Tabubil. The provincial government purported to change the name of the province to the Fly River Province but this remains unofficial as names of provinces are set out in the Constitution of Papua New Guinea and changes must be made according to the constitutional amending process.

    The major economic activity in the province is constituted by the Ok Tedi Mine, initially established by BHP and the subject of considerable litigation by traditional landowners both in respect of environmental degradation and disputes over royalties. It is currently operated by Ok Tedi Mining Limited (OTML).

    Districts and LLGs

    Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

    District District Capital LLG Name
    North Fly District Kiunga
    • Kiunga Rural
    • Kiunga Urban
    • Ningerum Rural
    • Olsobip Rural
    • Star Mountain Rural
    Middle Fly District Balimo
    • Balimo Rural
    • Bamu Rural
    • Gogodala Rural
    • Lake Murray Rural
    • Nomad Rural
    South Fly District Daru
    • Daru Urban
    • Kiwai Rural
    • Morehead Rural
    • Oriomo-Bituri Rural