Autonomous Region of Bouganville

About Central


  • Abau
  • Goilala
  • Kairuku-Hiri
  • Rigo




  • Governor - Hon. Robert Agarobe
  • Provincial Administrator - Gei Guni Raga
  • Provincial Treasurer - Ruth Gorua
Area Total

  • 29,500 km2 (11,390 sq mi)

  • Population Total

  • 183,983

  • Density

  • 6.2/km2 (16.2/sq mi)

  • Site Advisor

    ID Photo Position & Name Contact Detais
    Provincial & District Support Advisor

    Mr. Pim Kunipi
    • Office: Provincial Treasury Office (Konedobu)
    • Address: P.O Box 1343, Water Front, KONEDOBU
    • Ph: (+675) 3211194
    • Fax: +675) n/a
    • Mobile: (+675) 7202 4110
    • Email:
    Central Province is a province in Papua New Guinea located on the southern coast of the country. It has a population of 183,983 (2000 census) people and is 29,500 square kilometres (11,400 sq mi) in size. The seat of government of Central Province, which is located within the National Capital District outside the province, is the Port Moresby suburb of Konedobu. On 9 October 2007, the Central Province government announced plans to build a new provincial capital city at Bautama which lies within Central Province near Port Moresby, although there has been little progress in constructing it.

    (Whereas Tok Pisin is the main lingua franca in all Papua New Guinean towns, in part of the southern mainland coastal area centered on Central Province, Hiri Motu is a stronger lingua franca (but not in Port Moresby).

    Districts and LLGs

    Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

    District District Capital LLG Name
    Abau District Kupiano
    • Amazon Bay Rural
    • Aroma Rural
    • Cloudy Bay Rural
    Goilala District Tapini
    • Guari Rural
    • Tapini Rural
    • Woitape Rural
    Kairuku-Hiri District Bereina
    • Hiri Rural
    • Kairuku Rural
    • Koiari Rural
    • Mekeo Kuni Rural
    Rigo District Kwikila
    • Rigo Central Rural
    • Rigo Coastal Rural
    • Rigo Inland Rural