East New Britain

About East New Britain


  • Kerevat
  • Kokopo
  • Pomio
  • Rabaul




  • Governor -Nakikus Konga
  • Provincial Administrator - Wilson Matava
  • Provincial Treasurer - Steven Tamti
Area Total

  • 6,106.6 sq mi (15,816 km2)

  • Population Total

  • 220,133

  • Density

  • 36/sq mi (13.9/km2))

  • Site Advisor

    ID Photo Position & Name Contact Detais
    Provincial & District Support Advisor

    Wesley Kilala
    • Office: Kokopo Town
    • Address: P.O Box 499, Kokopo, ENB
    • Ph: (+675) 982 99821
    • Fax: (+675) 532 1403
    • Mobile:(+675) 70562548
    • Email: wesley_kilala@finance.gov.pg
    East New Britain is a province of Papua New Guinea, on the north-eastern part of the island of New Britain and it also includes the Duke of York Islands. The capital of the province is Kokopo, not far from the old capital of Rabaul, which was largely destroyed in the 1994 volcanic eruption. East New Britain covers a total land area of 15,816 square kilometres (6,107 sq mi), and the province has an estimated population of 220,133 (2000 census). Provincial coastal waters extend over an area of 104,000 square metres (26 acres).

    There are sixteen Austronesian languages spoken in the province, of which Kuanua, spoken by the Tolai on the Gazelle Peninsula is the most widely spoken.

    East New Britain has a dual economy: a cash economy operates side by side with the subsistence-farming sector. The main crops produced for export are cocoa and copra. Tourism continues to be an increasingly important sector of the provincial economy.

    Districts and LLGs

    Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

    District District Capital LLG Name
    Gazelle District Kerevat
    • Central Gazelle Rural
    • Inland Baining Rural
    • Lasul Baining Rural
    • Livuan-Reimber Rural
    Kokopo District Kokopo
    • Toma-Vunadidir Rural
    • Bitapaka Rural
    • Duke of Yoke Rural
    • Kokopo Unamami Urban
    • Raluana Rural
    Pomio District Pomio
    • East Pomio Rural
    • Melkoi Rural
    • Sinivit Rural
    • West Pomio-Mamusi Rural
    Rabaul District Rabaul
    • Balanataman Rural
    • Kombiu Rural
    • Rabaul Urban
    • Watom Island Rural