About Gulf

About Gulf Province


  • Kerema
  • Kikori




  • Governor - Hon. Chris Haiveta
  • Provincial Administrator - Marc Orisuru Avai
  • Provincial Treasurer - Iko Ori
Area Total

  • 13,300 sq mi (34,500 km2)

  • Population Total

  • 106,898 (2011 census)

  • Site Advisor

    ID Photo Position & Name Contact Detais
    Provincial & District Support Advisor

    Mr. Martin Gele
    • Office: Provincial Treasury Office
    • Address: PO Box 93,KEREMA, Gulf Province
    • Ph: (+675) 6481231
    • Fax: (+675) 6481176
    • Mobile: (+675) 7202 4110
    • Email:martin_gele@finance.gov.pg
    Gulf Province is a province of Papua New Guinea located on the southern coast. The provincial capital is Kerema. The 34,500 kmĀ² province is dominated by mountains, lowland river deltas, and grassland flood plains, the Kikori, Turama, Purari and Vailala rivers all meet the sea known as the Papuan Gulf. The province has the second-smallest population of all the provinces of Papua New Guinea with 106,898 inhabitants (2000 census).

    Districts and LLGs

    Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

    District District Capital LLG Name
    Kerema District Kerema
    • Central Kerema Rural
    • East Kerema Rural
    • Kaintiba Rural
    • Kerema Urban
    • Kotidanga Rural
    • Lakekamu-Tauri Rural
    Kikori District Kikori
    • Baimuru Rural
    • East Kikori Rural
    • Ihu Rural
    • West Kikori Rural