East Sepik Province

About East Sepik Province


  • Ambunti-Dreikikir
  • Angoram
  • Maprik
  • Wewak
  • Wosera-Gawi
  • Yangoru-Saussia




  • Governor -Hon. Allan Bird
  • Provincial Administrator - Dr. Clement Malau
  • Provincial Treasurer - Martin Mateos
Area Total

  • 43,426 km2 (16,767 sq mi)

  • Population Total

  • 450,530 (2011 census)

  • Site Advisor

    ID Photo Position & Name Contact Detais
    Provincial & District Support Advisor

    John Sam
    • Office: Provincial Treasury Office
    • Address: PO Box 1296, Kreer Heights, East Sepik
    • Ph: (+675) 7202 4103
    • Fax: n/a
    • Mobile:(+675) 72024120
    • Email: john_sam@finance.gov.pg
    East Sepik Province Wewak, the provincial capital, is located on the coast of East Sepik. There are a scattering of islands off shore, and coastal ranges dominate the landscape just inland of the coast. The remainder of the province's geography is dominated by the Sepik River, which is one of the largest rivers in the world in terms of water flow and is known for flooding—the river's level can alter by as much as five metres in the course of the year as it rises and falls. The southern areas of the province are taken up by the Hunstein Range and other mountain ranges which form the central cordillera and feed the Sepik River.

    Districts and LLGs

    Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

    District District Capital LLG Name
    Ambunti-Dreikikir District Ambunti-Dreikikir
    • Ambunti Rural
    • Tunap-Hunstein Range Rural
    • Gawanga Rural
    • Dreikikir Rural
    Angoram District Angoram
    • Angoram-Middle Sepik Rural
    • Keram Rural
    • Karawari Rural
    • Marienberg-Lower Sepik Rural
    • Yuat Rural
    Maprik District Maprik
    • Albiges Mamblep Rural
    • Bumbuita Muhiang Rural
    • Maprik Wora Rural
    • Yamil Tamaui Rural
    Wewak District Wewak
    • Boikin Dagua Rural
    • Turubu Rural
    • Wewak Islands Rural
    • Wewak Rural
    • Wewak Urban
    Wosera-Gawi District Wosera
    • Burui-Kunai Rural
    • Gawi Rural
    • North Wosera Rural
    • South Wosera Rural
    Yangoru-Saussia District Yangoru
    • East Yangoru Rural
    • Numbo Rural
    • Sausso Rural
    • West Yangoru Rural