Enga Province

About Enga Province


  • Kandep District
  • Kompiam District
  • Lagaip-Porgera District
  • Wabag District




  • Governor -Hon. Peter Ipatas
  • Provincial Administrator - Dr. Samson Amean
  • Provincial Treasurer - Nathan Lapakio
Area Total

  • 11,704 km2 (4,519 sq mi)

  • Population Total

  • 432,045

  • Density

  • 37/km2 (96/sq mi)

  • Site Advisor

    ID Photo Position & Name Contact Detais
    Provincial & District Support Advisor

    Delilah Warbat
    • Office: Provincial Treasury Office
    • Address: P O Box 281, Wapenamanda, Enga Province
    • Ph: (+675)547 1109
    • Fax: (+675) 547 1390
    • Mobile:(+675) 7202 4118
    • Email:delilah_warbat@finance.gov.pg
    Enga Province is located in the north most region of the highlands of PNG, having been divided from the Western Highlands to become a separate province when the provinces were created at the time of independence in 1975. The people of Enga are called Engans—they are a majority ethnic group—speaking one language in all its five districts: approximately 500,000 people.

    Enga is unique among the provinces in Papua New Guinea in that it has only one major linguistic and ethnic group: Enga speakers. Although dialects of the Enga language vary greatly from Laiagam in the west to Wapenamanda in the east, Engans' shared ethnic identity overshadows the existence of other ethnic groups in the province, such as Ipili speakers (around Porgera) and Nete speakers.

    Districts and LLGs

    Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

    District District Capital LLG Name
    Kandep District Kandep
    • Kandep Rural
    • Wage Rural
    Kompiam District Kompiam
    • Ambum Rural
    • Kompiam Rural
    • Wapi (Uangis) Rural
    Lagaip-Pogera District Lagaip-Pogera
    • Pilikambi Rural
    • Maip-Mulitaka Rural
    • Paiela-Hewa Rural
    • Porgera Rural
    Wapenamanda District Wapenamanda
    • Wapenamanda Rural
    • Tsak Rural
    Wabag District Wabag
    • Maramuni Rural
    • Wabag Rural
    • Wabag Urban