Western Highlands Province

About Western Highlands Province


  • Dei District
  • Mt. Hagen District
  • Mul-Baiyer District
  • Tambul-Nebilyer District


Mt. Hagen


  • Governor -Hon. Pais Wingti
  • Provincial Administrator - Joseph Neng
  • Provincial Treasurer - Timothy Rapula
Area Total

  • 1,700 sq mi (4,300 km2)

  • Population Total

  • 254,227

  • Density

  • 150/sq mi (59/km2)

  • Site Advisor

    ID Photo Position & Name Contact Detais
    Provincial & District Support Advisor

    Mr. Edwin Hiahowi
    • Office: Provincial Treasury Office
    • Address: PO Box
    • Ph: (+675)
    • Fax: (+675)
    • Mobile: (+675) 73138793
    • Email:edwin_hiahowi@finance.gov.pg
    Western Highlands is a province of Papua New Guinea. The provincial capital is Mount Hagen. The province covers an area of 4,300 kmĀ², and there are 254,227 inhabitants (2000 census), making the Western Highlands the most densely populated province (apart from the National Capital District). Tea and coffee are grown in the Western Highlands.

    Split to create Jiwaka Province

    In July 2009, Parliament passed legislation to create two new provinces by 2012. One of these was to be created by removing Jimi District, North Waghi District, and the South Waghi part of Anglimp-South Waghi District from the Western Highlands Province to form the new Jiwaka Province. "Jiwaka" is a portanteau word combining the first two letters each of Jimi, Waghi and Kambia. Jiwaka Province officially came into being on 17 May 2012.


    The Western Highlands economy is primarily based on coffee. Coffee is grown on plantations and small-holder blocks. They are picked, dried and processed for export. In addition, tea is also a major crop grown and processed, but in plantations by Wr Carpenters & Company Limited for local consumption and export. Apart from these, vegetables are grown for the domestic market, and sold mainly to markets Lae and Port Moresby.

    Districts and LLGs

    Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

    District District Capital LLG Name
    Dei District Dei
    • Muglamp Rural
    • Kotna Rural
    Mt. Hagen District Mt. Hagen Central
    • Mt. Hagen Rural
    • Mt. Hagen Urban
    Mul-Baiyer District Baiyer
    • Baiyer Rural
    • Mul Rural
    • Lumusa Rural
    Nebilyer District Nebilyer
    • Mt. Giluwe Rural
    • Nebilyer Rural